

## 2024-2028 Municipal Council Sworn in Oct. 30

## Oct. 30, 2024

The 2024-2028 Municipal Council for the Municipality of the County of Kings is ready to get to work.

Mayor Dave Corkum and nine District Councillors were officially sworn in during a Special Council meeting held Oct. 30. The elected officials took turns reciting the Council Member's Oath of Allegiance and of Office and signing the historic Oath Book members of Municipal Council for the Municipality of the County of Kings have been signing since 1880.

District Councillors are as follows: Coun. Everett MacPherson (<u>District 1</u>), Coun. Doug Gates (<u>District 2</u>), Coun. Robbie Hiltz (<u>District 3</u>), Coun. Riley Peckford (<u>District 4</u>), Coun. Tim Harding (<u>District 5</u>), Coun. Bob Best (<u>District 6</u>), Coun. Emily Lutz (<u>District 7</u>), Coun. Christina Sappington (<u>District 8</u>) and Coun. Peter Allen (<u>District 9</u>).

All members of Council signed a Code of Conduct for Elected Municipal Officials before taking their respective seats around the horseshoe in Council Chambers for their first official meeting as Municipal Council.

"It's a very exciting time for all members of Council and they're very pleased to have their family and friends here. It means the world to all of us to have you here," said Mayor Dave Corkum, addressing the audience.

"...It's, I believe, a great day for Kings County. I'm looking forward to working with this group as a team to make a difference in Kings County."

The group will return to Council Chambers Thursday and Friday morning as they participate in a series of new Council orientation sessions before their first regular monthly Council meeting on Nov. 5. The selection of a Deputy Mayor is on the agenda for the Nov. 5 meeting, which is slated to immediately follow a Public Hearing starting at 7 p.m.

Profiles of the Mayor and District Councillors will be added to <a href="www.countyofkings.ca">www.countyofkings.ca</a> as the information becomes available. In the meantime, Council can be reached via e-mail at <a href="councillors@countyofkings.ca">councillors@countyofkings.ca</a> or by phone at 902-678-6141 or 1-888-337-2999.